Menorca Top Sightseeing

Bastion of Sa Font

Monuments | Ciutadella
Bastion of Sa Font 3.5 2
2 ratings3.5

The bastion belongs to the walled precinct of Ciutadella and was built during the 17th century on the site of the old medieval wall dating from after the 1287 conquest. The medieval wall was in very poor condition following Turkish plundering in 1558. The bastion of Sa Font was completed in 1692 to protect the gateway of the same name, which was demolished in 1889. It has always been used to store tithes. Once its military role had ended, it passed into municipal control in 1881 and in 1902 it was leased for use as a factory for making acetylene lighting. Up until 1986 it was used as a tap water supply tank. In May 1995, after being restored, it was opened as the headquarters of the Municipal Museum of Ciutadella in Menorca.

Bastion of Sa Font
Spain Monuments

Carrer sa Muradeta, 31, Menorca

Neighborhood: Ciutadella
Telephone: 0034 971 380 297
Nearby Places Bastion of Sa Font

Display distance in Feet | Meters

Download your Menorca guide!