It’s very pretty to see
Absolutely fantastic along with all the other Neolithic settlements in menorca .
A fort built by the British between 1710 and 1726. Named after Sir John Churchill, Duke of Marlborough, after whom the children's song 'Mambrú' was also named. A large part of the fort is built into a wall of rock, imitating the landscape. There are three forts: the Castle of Sant Felip (ancient moats), Fort Marlborough and Stuart Tower (Torre d'en Penjat), the site of executions in olden days. The municipality of Es Castell takes its name from Castle Sant Felip. A very interesting trip to the Menorca of bygone times under British rule.
One of the most characteristic urban spaces Ciutadella de Menorca is undoubtedly the street known as Ses Voltes , its arched arcades. It goes from the Cathedral Square to the Plaça Nova . The first installment, which has only one side arches, is an irregular space, without the buildings between the street and San Sebastián, was formerly the Plaça Vella , in this part of the street there, on a column of concrete, the small sculpture of a bronze ram, local artist living in Madrid Matías Quetglas. The second tranche has arches on both sides, into the street, on the right there is a pharmacy, now closed, with facade and modern decor.
The Mercat Square is the only example of the iron architecture of XIX has been preserved to this day in Menorca. The Mercat des Peix historic building built in the mid XIX.el Mercat des Peix, Rehabilitated in 2011 The U-shaped porches without any ornamentation, create an open plaza facing the west. Under vaults welcomed the vegetable stalls. Years later, in 1895, the structure was built to protect the central metal counters for the sale of fish and linear piece attached to the butchers Seminar which houses both a great visual transparency. The cover of the two light elements was performed with glazed tiles of green and ocher, along the lines used in similar buildings outside the island. 1868-1869, Ramon Cavaller Gelabert
The site features a naveta known as Cova del Moor, which was declared an artistic-historical monument in 1931. The prehistoric settlement Son Mercer de Baix is located in western Minorca and can be reached by taking the first turnoff to the right on the Ferreries-Migjorn Gran road and following a 25-minute unpaved stretch to a small esplanade overlooking a ravine called Son Fideu. This settlement, which was inhabited during the pre-Talayotic (2500-1800 BC) and the Talayotic (1600-123 BC) periods, is made up of two main horseshoe-shaped navetas or megalithic tombs, and other complementary rectangular structures, one of which was a small smithy for smelting copper, which makes one think there were two units in the village that occupied approximately thirty square metres each. It was even enclosed by with a defensive wall. Furthermore, one of the monuments it is famous for its singularity: Cova des Moor, a room-shaped naveta with three stone columns supporting the roof, which endows the construction with a certain majesty. This naveta, one of the most classic of its kind in Minorcan archaeology, was declared an artistic-historical monument in 1931. Excavations in the settlement have uncovered bronze ingots and a furnace for forging metal and indicate that the inhabitants devoted themselves to livestock raising and harvesting.
Navetas, unique boat-shaped monumental tombs, were built in response to the concerns of the inhabitants in prehistoric times about protecting the spirits of their dead. The navetas at Rafal Rubí are monumental structures that served as mass pantheons which can only be found in Menorca. They are constructed with the cyclopean technique, which used great stone slabs on the bottom that form a slightly convex wall and an apse in the upper part. The threshold and dintel are made up of large boulders that represent the passage from the world of the living to the dead. The first naveta to the right on the site is the northern one. The upper part has fallen down, but the well-carved perforated slab entrance that still stands is striking. The second, or southern, naveta, is a well-constructed apse with a monolithic threshold and dintel. In contains two storeys inside where the tombs were located. Both navetas were built in the second half of the second millennium BC during the transition from the pre-Talayotic to the Talayotic era and were in use all during the latter period. How to get there: shortly before km 7 on the Mahon-Ciutadella road there is a signpost on the right indicating the navetas at Rafal Rubí. Turn right - the two navetas are located a few metres down the road on the left.
The bastion belongs to the walled precinct of Ciutadella and was built during the 17th century on the site of the old medieval wall dating from after the 1287 conquest. The medieval wall was in very poor condition following Turkish plundering in 1558. The bastion of Sa Font was completed in 1692 to protect the gateway of the same name, which was demolished in 1889. It has always been used to store tithes. Once its military role had ended, it passed into municipal control in 1881 and in 1902 it was leased for use as a factory for making acetylene lighting. Up until 1986 it was used as a tap water supply tank. In May 1995, after being restored, it was opened as the headquarters of the Municipal Museum of Ciutadella in Menorca.
They say that a notary had built the house on the hole of the Sparrow and then was used by fishermen, smuggling of snuff, coffee and soap in hard times after the war. Traces are accessed from a staircase carved into the rock. Fits easily inside a small BOATS. Once you see the white house on the rock to find the stairs down almost perpendicular to the cave.
The parish church of Saint Anthony is one of the most important buildings of the village of Fornells .This building, which was completed around 1780, following the trend of other parish churches of the island of Menorca characterized by a very simple construction and austere classic and a single nave with side chapels. During the festivities of Fornells , which take place in late July, the Church of Saint Anthony became one of the cores of the celebration, which hosts a mix of civil and religious symbols.
Download your Menorca guide!